Learning Programmes


At the Evergreen Education Centre, we offer two different learning programmes to accommodate the individual learning needs of your child. Choosing the correct learning programme for your child is vital for their academic progress. At our school, we accommodate your child’s learning style and make sure they finish all programme requirements within the given time. Please see the different options below:

CAPS Senior Phase


The CAPS Senior Phase Curriculum follows the National Curriculum as set out by the South Africa Government and is intended for students between the ages of 13-16.

More Information

During this phase, learners have to master:
• Home Language (Afrikaans or English)
• First Additional Language (Afrikaans or English, depending on home language choice)
• Mathematical literacy, mathematics and mathematical sciences
• Creative Arts
• Life Orientation
• Human and social sciences
• Economic management sciences
• Natural sciences
• Technology

Learners who successfully complete Grade 9 receive a GET certificate, which is Level 1 on the NQF.

To find out more about the Senior Phase contact us at info@evergreeneducation.co.za



We offer the GED® curriculum to students who want to complete a South African Grade 12 equivalent, but do not wish to follow the traditional mainstream curriculum. The GED® can be completed at the student’s own pace.

This curriculum is available to students between the ages of 13 and 19. Between 13 and 16 years of age, students prepare for the study material, and exams begin at the age of 17. This programme is offered both online and face to face.

More Information

What is the GED®?
GED is an abbreviation for General Education Development Test. The GED® Program is a qualification that was created in the United States for adult learners as a "second chance" to obtain their high school diploma. The program became so popular that it is now available in 85 countries worldwide. The GED® Program is the American equivalent of the A level, HSC, NCEA, International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, and other higher secondary credentials.

Your GED® will grant you admission to universities in the United States and around the world. Countries that have accepted students with the GED® Credential include the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, Thailand, Malaysia, Nepal, and South Africa.

The GED test has four main areas of testing:
• Mathematical Reasoning
• Reasoning Through Language Arts
• Science
• Social Studies

You will take four separate tests that together make up the entire GED exam. These test can be taken one at a time, or all at once. You have two years to complete your GED. Each test takes at least one hour, and you must get a certain score in order to pass.

To find out more about the GED contact us at info@evergreeneducation.co.za

Follow our social channels for

more news and information